After the Quake: Stories

After the Quake: Stories

Haruki Murakami, Jay Rubin

The six tales in Haruki Murakami’s enchanting assortment are set on the time of the catastrophic 1995 Kobe earthquake, whilst Japan turned brutally conscious of the fragility of its day-by-day lifestyles. however the upheavals that afflict Murakami’s characters are even deeper and extra mysterious, emanating from a spot the place the human meets the inhuman.

An electronics salesman who has been without notice abandoned through his spouse consents to carry an enigmatic package—and is rewarded with a glimpse of his precise nature. a guy who has been raised to view himself because the son of God pursues a stranger who may well or will not be his human father. A mild-mannered assortment agent gets a trip from an enormous conversing frog who enlists his assist in saving Tokyo from destruction. As haunting as desires, as powerful as oracles, the tales in After the Quake are additional evidence that Murakami is without doubt one of the so much visionary writers at paintings this present day.

Show sample text content

Download sample