First Love and Other Sorrows: Stories

First Love and Other Sorrows: Stories

Harold Brodkey


within the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this strong choice of brief tales chronicles the lack of innocence, the cruel cruelty of social differences, and the pain of younger loveFirst Love and different Sorrows is the hauntingly appealing debut selection of brief tales from American grasp Harold Brodkey. Written while the writer used to be in his twenties, those robust, affecting stories bear in mind the intoxicating pleasure of younger, springtime love, whereas lamenting the betrayal of desires and fake beliefs within the obvious mild of fact. Set within the Midwest in the course of the Fifties, past love and different Sorrows facilities round a Jewish relatives that has lately misplaced its patriarch—and with him the area of privilege. in the course of the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one suffering to discover a foothold in either kin and society—these tales discover type prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. past love and different Sorrows is masterful fiction from a rare literary artist.

Show sample text content

Download sample