Northland Stories (Penguin Twentieth-Century Classics)

Northland Stories (Penguin Twentieth-Century Classics)

Jack London

just like the characters within the well known dime novels of the time, London's heroes exhibit such manly virtues as braveness, loyalty, and steadfastness as they conftont the cruel frozen expanses of the north. but London breaks freed from stereotypical figures and one-dimensional plots to discover deeper mental and social questions of self-mastery, masculinity, and racial domination. The uneasy dating among the local americans and whites lies on the middle of a number of the tales, whereas others replicate London's becoming knowledge of the destruction wrought by means of the white incursion on Indian culture.

Northland Stories includes nineteen of Jack London's maximum brief works, together with "An Odyssy of the North" (London's significant step forward as a tender author), "The White Silence," "The legislations of Life," "The League of the previous Men," and the realm vintage "To construct a Fire."

For greater than seventy years, Penguin has been the major writer of vintage literature within the English-speaking international. With greater than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a world bookshelf of the simplest works all through background and throughout genres and disciplines. Readers belief the sequence to supply authoritative texts more desirable through introductions and notes by means of individual students and modern authors, in addition to up to date translations by means of award-winning translators.


Show sample text content

Download sample